New age incubation network [NAIN]

 Karnataka ICT Group (KIG 2020) was formed under the leadership of Mr. Mohandas Pai and Mr. B V Naidu which was charted to develop Karnataka’s roadmap to undisputed global leadership in ICT by the year 2020.In the state budget 2013-14 it has been announced as follows “To encourage entrepreneurship and innovation it is proposed to establish incubation centres in ICT sector in association with selected engineering colleges at district headquarters.”

 The program is designed to give preference to students, research scholars and alumni of the chosen colleges compared to those from other colleges in the district. The program will be more tuned to students and alumni from emerging ICT centres catering to the problems of local needs rather than following the incubation centres in big cities that look at global problems.

The current incubation models that are prevailing are infrastructure support incubation centres or academic focused incubation centres. However it is essential to create new age incubation centres at all the 7 centres with the active support of the industry. Some of these incubation centres can be further strengthened to focus more on IP/Product development as “Innovation centres”

Entrepreneurship development and mentoring is one of the ten initiatives of KIG 2020 for creating new opportunities and jobs. One of the tasks under this head is to build ‘Karnataka New Age Incubation Network’ to be located in the chosen colleges that are in the nine emerging ICT centres.


1. Shivamoga - JNN College of Engineering
2. Gulbarga - PDA College of Engineering.
3. Dharwad - SDM College of Engg and Technology.
4. Tumkur - Siddaganga Institute of Technology.
5. Bijapur - BLDEA’s VP Dr.PGH College of Engineering and Technology.
6. Bagalkote - Basaveshwara Engineering College.
7. Nitte udupi - NMAM Institute of Technology.
8. Mysore - National Institute of Engineering.
9. Belgum - KLS Gogte Institute of Technology.


1. Chikkaballapur - Sri Jagadguru Chandra Shekaranatha Swamiji institute of technology.
2. Davangere - Bapuji Institute of engineering and technology.
3. Mangalore - Sahyadri College of Engineering and Management.
4. Moodabidri, D.Kannada. - Mangalore Institute of Technology & Engineering.
5. Ramanagara - Ghousia engineering college.
6. Holenarasipura, Hassan District - Govt. First Grade College.
7. Mandya - Govt. College Autonomous.
8. Bhadravathi, Shivamogga District - Sri MV Govt. Science College.
9. Vijayapura, Dharwad - College of Agriculture.
10. Mysuru - SBRR Mahajana First Grade College.

The centers at sixteen different districts are as follows :

Click on the respective icons for the format

Bagalkot Dakshina Kannada Hassan Ramanagara
Belagavi Davangere Mandya Shivamogga
Bijapur Dharwad Mangalore TUMKUR
Chikkaballapur Gulbarga Mysuru Udupi




NAIN Core Team & Mentor Cloud